Migrants Rights International

Tuesday, July 11, 2006

List of Speakers and Spokespersons for the Informal Interactive Hearings

Informal Interactive Hearings of the General Assembly with Non-Governmental
Organizations, Civil Society Organizations and the Private Sector
on International Migration and Development
United Nations Headquarters, New York
12 July 2006

Trusteeship Council Chamber

Confirmed Speakers and Spokespersons as of 7 July

Segment 1: Promoting a comprehensive rights-based approach to international
migration, and ensuring respect for and protection of the human rights of all
migrants and their families


Ms. Sajida Zarren Ally – Migrants Rights International
Mr. John Bingham – International Catholic Migration Commission
Ms. Genevieve Gencianos – Public Services International


Asia Pacific Forum on Women, Law and Development- Ms. Nalini Singh
CCA- Mr. Charles Uwiragiye
Centro de Estudios Migratorios Latinoamericanos- Mr. Mario Santillo
December 18- Mr. Rene Plaetevoet
Human Rights Watch- Ms. Nisha Varia
Indigenous World Association for the Aldet Centre- Mr. Albert Deterville
La Strada- Ms. Ana Ravenco
Mekong Migration Network- Ms. Jacquline Pollock
Platform for International Cooperation on Undocumented Migrants- Mr. Don Flynn
Realizing Rights- Ms. Heather Grady
Solidarity Center- Ms. Neha Misra
Youth International Sayhi Nigeria- Mr. Kingsley Essomeonu

Segment 2: International migration and development - challenges for social and
economic policies in sending and receiving countries


Ms. Ana Avendano – AFL-CIO
Ms. Gloria Camacho – CEPLAES
Mr. Rex Marlo Y Varona – Asían Migrant Centre


AfricaRecruit -Ms. Onome Ako
Center for Migrant Advocacy Philippines- Ms. Ellene Sana
Essential Workers Immigration Coalition- Ms. Laura Reiff
Federation of Kenyan Employers- Ms. Jackline Mugo
The Foundation for Democracy in Africa- Mr. Fred Oladeinde
Institute for Public Policy Research- Mr. Dhananjayan Sriskandarajah
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)- Ms. Helené Lackenbauer
Jesuit Refugee Service (JRS)- Mr. Marc Valadao

Hague Process on Refugees and Migrants- Mr. Philip Rudge
Migrant, Refugee and Displaced Continental Network- Ms. Manuela Natividad Obeso Gonzales
National Network for Immigrant and Refugee Rights- Ms. Catherine Tactaquin

Segment 3: International migration and development - challenges for social and
economic policies in sending and receiving countries (continued)


Ms. Jacqueline Coke-Lloyd – Jamaica Employers’ Federation
Ms. Anastasia Crickley – NCCRI, Pavee Point, OSCE, EUMC
Mr. Emeka Chikezie – African Foundation for Development
Mr. Santiago De La Cruz – CONAIE


American Council on International Personnel- Ms. Lynn Shotwell
Christian Children's Fund- Ms. Asa Ekvall
Dialects - Ms. Diana Senior
Franciscans International- Ms. Alam Liliane
Joint Committee for Migrant Workers in Korea (JCMK)- Ms. Kim Mi-Sun
Philippine Resources for Sustainable Development, Inc.- Mr. Robert Sagun
International Presentation Association Sisters of the Presentation- Georgina Ann Costello
NGO Subcommittee on the Human Rights of Immigrants and Refugees- Richard Mandelbaum
Tebtebba Foundation and UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues- Victoria Tauli-Corpuz
Think Centre and Convener of the ASEAN Taskforce on Migrant Workers- Sinapan Samydorai

Segment 4: Policy responses - Promoting the building of partnerships and capacitybuilding
and the sharing of best practices at all levels, including the bilateral and
regional levels, for the benefit of countries and migrants alike


Mr. Austin Fragomen – Fragomen, Del Ray, Bernsen & Loewy, LLP
Ms. Hope P. White-Davis – The World Association of Former United Nations Interns
Mr. Michael Boampong – Young People We Care (Video Conference?) or Ms. Marioliva
Gonzalez - Red Global de Accion juvenil, GYAN Mèxico AC


American Bar Association- Ms. Ellen Lafili Yost
Asian Forum for Human Rights and Development- Ms. Pia Oberoi
Center For Migration Studies Of New York INC- Mr. Leonir Chiarello
Global Rights- Ms. Ann Jordan
International Center for Policy Studies, OSI/HESP Academic Fellowship Program- Ms. Olesya
Pathfinder Group- Mr. Ikram Ul-Majeed Sehgal
Servicio Jesuita para Migrantes de Centroamérica- Mr. José Luis Rocha
Sumando Uruguay- Mr. Fabrizio Scrollini
Southern African Migration Project (SAMP)- Mr. Jonathan Crush
US Chamber of Commerce- Mr. Randel Johnson
Vancouver Status of Women- Ms. Angela Contreras
Welfare Association of Repatriated Bangledesh Employees- Mr. Syed Saiful Haque


Post a Comment

<< Home